Happy Saturday!

Happy Saturday!  I am very grateful for the weekend.  It has been a busy week and my house was feeling rather neglected.  Yesterday was my first morning home all week and I gave it some tlc.  Now today, with nowhere to go until tonight I plan on completing the task and embracing the start of fall with some baking/ soup making.
I love fall!  It is my favorite season.  For me, perfect weather is 65-70 which is a lot of what you see in the fall.  I also love to bake, see the colors of the changing leaves, pumpkin spice lattes (and really anything pumpkin).  Since we are home today I decided to make from scratch cinnamon rolls for breakfast and zuppa toscana soup and bread machine wheat rolls for lunch.

The cinnamon rolls are the best from scratch ones that I have made.  My husband still prefers the ones that come in a can (gasp!), but I like that I control these ingredients.  We try to avoid food dyes for my son and there are all kinds of dyes in the can kind.  I also like how there is a little bit of wheat flour in them, so you feel like there is some sort of nutrition in them. 🙂  This recipe is from a bakery and I found it on Dana Treat’s website.  Which is one of the blogs I read regularly.  The link to the recipe is here. http://danatreat.com/2010/04/holly-bs-cinnamon-rolls/

This recipe contains raisins and almonds in the filling and does not have frosting. When I made them I tried to make them a little healthier by only using 1/2 cup of each of the sugars and 2 T of melted butter for the filling.  They still ended up being about 300 calories each, but sometimes you have to splurge a little, right?  I knew those things wouldn’t fly with the three boys in my house, so I kept mine that way and for the rest of them omitted the raisins and almonds and added frosting.  I used a standard frosting recipe of 2 T unsalted butter softened, a little over a cup of powdered sugar, a splash of vanilla and 2 T milk.  Just add powdered sugar until desired consistency is reached.  It will be thinner than cake frosting.  Another thing I love about this recipe is that it can be made the night before and still turns out great.  I let them rise for about 20 minutes in the pan then stuck them in the fridge over night.  In the morning I got them out and let them sit for about 30 minutes.  One last note on these, I only baked them for about 22 minutes.  I think that my oven runs hot, so you may need the full 30, but the first time I made them I did the 30 minutes and they were WAY overdone.  These are really fairly easy, so if you are normally intimidated by making yeast bread this is a good one to try.

Another good homemade yeast bread to try are these rolls. http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/bread-machine-whole-wheat-dinner-rolls/765e6882-3f61-4ed8-ac4d-ba7056c06322  I made them for the first time last Friday and they are THE BEST homemade rolls I have ever made.  They are light and fluffy!  If you have a bread machine then they are SUPER easy.  I suggest you try them the next time you want some rolls.  Okay, so that is a lot of carbs going on in this post.  Good thing I am planning a long work-out today to help burn it off.  I am going to attempt to run 2-3 miles and then do Jillian Michael’s 30 day shred.  Tonight we have a going away party to go to for one of my husband’s co-workers.

I hope to post the soup recipe tomorrow and coming soon will have a Banana muffin with dark chocolate peanut butter recipe.  I hoped to have that recipe sooner, but I made them on Thursday and wasn’t completely happy with them.  I am going to tweak them a couple more times before sharing the Saturday.  Now off to clean toilets, play trains and all kinds of exciting mom things. 🙂  Have a great weekend!

About ahealthymom

I am a stay-at home mom to two boys who is very active in my church through Bible Study, Mops, Sunday School, small group and being a sponsor for our middle school youth group. I strive to live a healthy life everyday in all kinds of ways. The first in my relationship with God, also in healthy eating and exercise, healthy relationships to name a few. I have been following other blogs lately and decided to start my own where I would share ways I am living a healthy life, through my exercise plans, eating and recipes, Bible studies, parenting and various other relationships in life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

