Buffalo Wing Pizza

Good morning!  We are having a lazy morning around here.  We normally have somewhere to go every morning and today there was nothing on the agenda!  The boys and I are still in our pajamas and I am still sipping my morning coffee.  All three of us have a touch of a cold and I don’t have much energy, so a lazy day at home is just what we need.  I have a mountain of laundry to tackle, but otherwise I hope to lay low.

I mentioned my homemade buffalo wing pizza on facebook Sunday night and had a couple of people ask me about the recipe.  So, I thought I would share what I did.  It was one of those make it up as I go.

First I made the pizza dough using this recipe http://allrecipes.com/recipe/amazing-whole-wheat-pizza-crust/detail.aspx.  I find it fairly easy to make as far as pizza dough goes.  It makes a lot of dough, so if you only want one pizza you can freeze half for later or do what I did and make two pizzas to have leftovers for lunches throughout the week.

Next I cooked some chicken.  We have this thing called a flavorwave.  You can cook chicken from frozen on it in around 20 minutes, so I used that.  It would also be a time saver to pick-up a rotisserie chicken from the store and use that.

While the chicken was cooking, I sliced a sweet onion into thin slices.  I then placed it in a saute pan on low heat and drizzled with olive oil.  Cook on low for about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally to make sure the onion doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pan.  It is done when the onion is a golden caramel color.

As everything cooked, I rolled out my pizza dough (I do it fairly thin) and spread wing sauce over it.  I used Jack and Charlie’s Big Sauce Grillin’ and Wing Sauce #1- medium roasted garlic sauce.  http://www.jackandcharliesbigsauce.com/.  It is a local sauce that I bought at the Farmer’s Market.  It had a great flavor for this pizza, but just use your own favorite wing sauce.

I then grated up a 8 oz block of part- skim mozzarella and put half on each pizza.  You could also use blue cheese for a more traditional wing flavor, but I am not a fan of blue cheese, so I went with mozzarella.

When the chicken and onion were done I spread it on top of the cheese and then baked at 425 for about 10 minutes.  I also drizzled part of the pizza with ranch (you could use blue cheese dressing) and that was really good.

So, there you have it fairly simple, but in my opinion an amazing variation to normal pizza.

Buffalo Wing Pizza

Pizza Dough (homemade or store-bought)

1 lb chicken breast

Small sweet onion

Olive oil for drizzling

8 oz block of mozzarella cheese

Wing Sauce

Ranch or Blue Cheese dressing (optional)

1. Make pizza dough or roll- out store-bought dough onto a pan. Preheat oven to 425.

2. Cook chicken or shred store-bought chicken.

3. Slice an onion into thin slices.  Preheat saute pan on low heat and add onion to the pan, drizzling with olive oil.  Cover and cook for about 15 minutes until golden brown, stirring occasionally.

4. Spread a thin layer of hot sauce on you pizza dough.

5. Grate cheese or use store-bought shredded cheese and sprinkle on pizza dough.

6. Top with onion and chicken.

7. Drizzle with dressing if desired and bake at 425 for 10 minutes.

Makes 2 pizzas

Time: 30 minutes ( 2 hours making dough from scratch including rise time)

I cut each pizza into eight slices and it was about 335 calories for 3 slices.

Enjoy!

About ahealthymom

I am a stay-at home mom to two boys who is very active in my church through Bible Study, Mops, Sunday School, small group and being a sponsor for our middle school youth group. I strive to live a healthy life everyday in all kinds of ways. The first in my relationship with God, also in healthy eating and exercise, healthy relationships to name a few. I have been following other blogs lately and decided to start my own where I would share ways I am living a healthy life, through my exercise plans, eating and recipes, Bible studies, parenting and various other relationships in life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

