Whole Wheat Pumpkin Flax Muffins

Yay for Friday!  I am so ready for the weekend!  We have a fun weekend planned full of my mom visiting, a pumpkin patch, date night which includes going to dinner and a play, and other various outdoors activities with the gorgeous weather we are having.  I have had a pretty bad cold for the past week, which led to not much cooking/baking, which then led to not posting anything on here.

This recipe was worth the wait.  It is a great healthy snack and met the approval of both my picky children and women at my Bible Study who were amazed at how good they were considering the ingredients.  I was asked to make a healthy snack to share with the class, since the leader knew about this blog and my desire for healthy eating.  Last weekend I went to Trader Joe’s (so wish we had one here!) and stocked up on pumpkin.  I also bought some flaxseed meal as I had been wanting to try it for a while and the price was cheaper there than I had seen anywhere else.  I used these two ingredients to make whole wheat Pumpkin Flax muffins.  Both pumpkin and Flax have some great health benefits.  To read about the benefits of pumpkin read here: http://www.bewellbuzz.com/nutrition/pumpkin-health-benefits/ and flaxseeds here: http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=81.  With all of the fiber in these babies I wouldn’t eat to many at once, unless your body is used to a lot of fiber.  So, embrace fall and try these muffins today.  You will be glad you did.!

Whole Wheat Pumpkin-Flax Muffins

 

2 cups canned pumpkin puree                 1 teaspoon baking powder

¾ cup flaxseed meal                                    1 teaspoon baking soda

¾ cup unsweetened applesauce              1 teaspoon salt

2 cups sugar (preferably raw)                  1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

4 eggs                                                                1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

3 cups white whole wheat flour               1 teaspoon ground cloves

optional- ½ teaspoon ground ginger and 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

raisins or dark chocolate chips

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease and flour two mini muffin pans, two normal muffin pans, one of each or one loaf pan.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together the pumpkin, flaxseed, applesauce, sugar and eggs.  In a separate bowl combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and all of the spices.  Stir the flour mixture into the pumpkin mixture just until combined.  Spoon the batter into the pans.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes for mini muffins, 20 minutes for regular muffins and 45 minutes to an hour for a loaf.  The top should spring back when lightly pressed and a toothpick should come out clean when inserted.
  4. Makes 48 mini muffins, 24 regular muffins, or one loaf
  5. Nutrition 75 calories per mini muffin and 150 calories for regular muffin

I add the extra spices because I really like a spicy pumpkin muffin, but if you don’t then leave them out!

And with that I will leave you with a question- What are your favorite fall treats or activities?

Have a great weekend!

About ahealthymom

I am a stay-at home mom to two boys who is very active in my church through Bible Study, Mops, Sunday School, small group and being a sponsor for our middle school youth group. I strive to live a healthy life everyday in all kinds of ways. The first in my relationship with God, also in healthy eating and exercise, healthy relationships to name a few. I have been following other blogs lately and decided to start my own where I would share ways I am living a healthy life, through my exercise plans, eating and recipes, Bible studies, parenting and various other relationships in life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

