Finally back…

It has been a crazy month or so and because of some stuff I have had going on I haven’t posted on here or done a lot of my normal activities.  Now that things are starting to get back to normal I hope to post on here again 3-5 times a week at least.  We will see how it goes this week with Christmas, but I am going to try my hardest to achieve this goal by golly once the new year begins.  I am hoping to use this blog to challenge me to cook more and continue to pursue a healthy lifestyle as well as give friends and others some of the recipes I use and am finding.

For this first post back I am going to share some quinoa (pronounced Keen-wa) recipes.  Someone recently asked me for some recipes.  I am going to link to a few recipes that I have liked and enjoyed as well as my own recipe that I created.  I am also hoping to try some new ones in the new year and will post them as I try them.

Quinoa is a great grain as it includes all 12 amino acids that your body needs.  I first tried it a year ago when I went vegetarian for nine months.  I am no longer eating vegetarian, but I still tend to gravitate towards meatless meals and love the way I feel after eating quinoa.  Here is a link to a website that explains the benefit of quinoa http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?dbid=142&tname=foodspice.

Here are two recipes that I have liked off of all-recipes.

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/turkey-and-quinoa-meatloaf/detail.aspx

It was a little dry and crumbly when I tried it, so I might try to add a little extra moisture next time, but my whole family liked it.

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/quinoa-and-black-beans/detail.aspx

When I make this I add red pepper or tomato and also some feta or goat cheese.

Here are two from a blog that I greatly enjoy and read daily; Eat, Live, Run.

http://www.eatliverun.com/roasted-beet-and-goat-cheese-quinoa/

I had never eaten beets until this summer, but have found that I really enjoy them.  There was a salad I had at the Bloomington Chophouse in Minneapolis that had beets in it that was AMAZING!

http://www.eatliverun.com/black-bean-quinoa-and-citrus-salad/

This is a really good salad.  I am not a fan of grapefruit.  My dad tells me that I need to try the ruby red variety, so maybe I will do that soon and see if those can win me over. 🙂  I have made this once with oranges and once with pineapple.  The pineapple was my favorite, but then it is no longer a citrus salad. ;P

 

The recipe that I created and took to the Ladies Salad Super at church was a variation of this recipe.

Southwest Quinoa Salad with Cilantro Lime Dressing

1 Red Pepper, chopped

1 Avocado, diced

1 cup Frozen corn, defrosted

1 cup uncooked Quinoa

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

(Make it your own by adding any other fruits or vegetables, grape tomatoes would work well)

1. Chop all vegetable and mix together in a large bowl.

2.  While chopping vegetables cook Quinoa according to package directions and then let cool.

3. Add Quinoa to the bowl.

4. Prepare Dressing

Here is a link to the dressing recipe that I used from dinners, dishes and desserts (I only used 1/2 the amount of oil)

http://dinnersdishesanddesserts.com/?p=142

And here is the recipe:

Cilantro Lime Vinaigrette
Recipe from Our Best Bites
¼ cup lime juice
¼ cup white wine vinegar
5 cloves garlic
1/2 tsp. Kosher
2 tsp sugar
1 c. canola oil (I used 1/2 cup)
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped

In a blender or food processor, combine lime juice, vinegar, garlic, salt, and sugar. Blend until well combined.  With the food processor running, add in a slow stream of oil.  Pulse in the cilantro.   You want the cilantro to be well blended, but still be able to see plenty of flecks.  Store in the fridge.  Shake or stir well before serving.

5. Pour as much dressing as desired over the top (I only used about half of the dressing), mix well and refrigerate for at least an hour then enjoy.

 

The next recipes I plan to try I saw on pinterest.  One is a broccoli and cheese casserole using Quinoa instead of rice and the other is a breakfast recipe.  I hope to post those soon.

Thanks for reading and if you have never tried Quinoa please give one of these recipes a try soon and let me know what you think or what your favorite recipe is!

 

About ahealthymom

I am a stay-at home mom to two boys who is very active in my church through Bible Study, Mops, Sunday School, small group and being a sponsor for our middle school youth group. I strive to live a healthy life everyday in all kinds of ways. The first in my relationship with God, also in healthy eating and exercise, healthy relationships to name a few. I have been following other blogs lately and decided to start my own where I would share ways I am living a healthy life, through my exercise plans, eating and recipes, Bible studies, parenting and various other relationships in life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finally back…

  1. Jess says:

    Sounds good! I’ve never tried it before, but I think I will give it a try. We need some healthier options after a couple of months of baked goods and too much sugar! 🙂

Leave a Reply

