Day 3 of my journey: A surprise

Here I am, day three of this new journey and I have to admit I am surprised by it all.  I thought that I would be hungry all of the time and craving all sorts of junk food, but surprisingly that is not true at all.  I do eat around 5 times a day, which most likely accounts for not being as starving as I thought that I would be.  I get that.  The thing that really surprises me is how my body craves more and more of this healthy, real food.  My energy level has been amazing and I feel less cloudy headed than I used to.  Instead of wanting the junk food that I used to crave my body is craving more fruits and vegetables and healthy grains.  I thought about getting Starbucks today while at the store, but then I thought, “I don’t really want it”.  If I were looking at myself I would have done a double take.  This thought was coming from the girl who used to have Starbucks at least once or twice a week or sometimes more.  Instead I opted to make a cappuccino just using organic 2% milk and espresso.  Part of this decision was listening to my body and its desire for more whole/ real foods and the other part was after feeling so good I was afraid of how I would feel afterwards.  Now don’t get me wrong, I know that espresso still isn’t the best thing for me, but not having it filled with sugar was a step in the right direction.  This is also not to say I will never have Starbucks again, but for now it is telling me to keep doing what I am doing and listen to my body.

The other surprising thing has been my boys response to this as well.  Their bodies also seem to be doing well with it and they want more.  The first thing my son asked me for at lunch today was vegetables.  They both ate every bite of them too.  While not that unusual for my oldest was rather unusual for my younger son.  They also both loved this banana bread recipe that I tried yesterday afternoon.  I made them into muffins.

http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2011/05/02/recipe-whole-wheat-banana-bread/

A note on these, they are not very sweet.  So, if you are looking for a sweeter bread you may want to up the honey that is called for or wait until your bananas are REALLY ripe.  Mine were starting to get some brown spots, but not fully brown.

Both boys kept saying yum while eating them and I enjoyed them as well.  I also tried making my own bread crumbs this afternoon which appeared to be a success.  Tonight for dinner I am going to try potato skins off of her site alongside big salads. (I know this varies from my menu plan, but I forgot to get the chicken out of the freezer in time-oops!)  This has been a lot of linking from the 100 days of real food site, but I am hoping as I get further along in this journey I will start making up some of my own recipes as well as using some from others.  It sure has been a good place to start.  I have the book In Defense of Food on reserve at the library and am hoping that will help me as well.

Are there any things that have surprised you lately?

Oh, I also fixed the link on my last post.  Thanks!

About ahealthymom

I am a stay-at home mom to two boys who is very active in my church through Bible Study, Mops, Sunday School, small group and being a sponsor for our middle school youth group. I strive to live a healthy life everyday in all kinds of ways. The first in my relationship with God, also in healthy eating and exercise, healthy relationships to name a few. I have been following other blogs lately and decided to start my own where I would share ways I am living a healthy life, through my exercise plans, eating and recipes, Bible studies, parenting and various other relationships in life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 3 of my journey: A surprise

  1. Autumn says:

    I love the 100 Days of Real Food blog! I discovered it a while back and am just addicted to it!!
    I have tried lots of her recipies and they usually turn out very well (except when I forget to add the baking soda for the banana nut bread as I did two ago–a perfectly good batch ruined :,( )

    I’m loving this blog as well, we seems to have minds that go along the same track. 🙂

Leave a Reply

