“This is better than a restaurant”

Well, hello there!  I hope that you are having a fabulous weekend!  We ended up going on a short trip for a little family time.  We ate out, swam, shopped at Trader Joe’s and wore ourselves out.  We had fun and only a melt-down or two (by each member of our family ;)) occurred.  This was my first time eating out since my transition to eating whole foods and I will have to say that I am happy to be home :).  It was hard finding things to eat and I started to crave the things I had been eating at home.  I did manage to have grilled Salmon with fresh vegetables for dinner last night at Cheesecake Factory.  This was part of their new Skinnylicious menu, a separate menu where each menu item is 590 calories or less.  It was good.  I did allow myself one piece of bread, but decided after one bite that I didn’t really want it.  I did splurge after doing well at dinner and let myself have a piece of cheesecake as my one splurge for the week.  It tasted pretty good, but not as good as I remembered.  I didn’t finish it and had a sickly sweet taste in my mouth afterwards.  For breakfast this morning we went to Cracker Barrel where I found oatmeal with bananas, pecans and some 100% maple syrup to be my best option.  We allowed the boys to eat pancakes for breakfast and they had noodles and bread last night, though one of my sons didn’t eat any noodles or bread after a bite of each and ended up eating broccoli and green beans for dinner.  I did bring our own snacks, so they had good choices for those.  I am definitely starting to see food and the way I eat in a completely different way.  Will this be a life-long change?  Only time will tell.

For dinner tonight we decided to feed the kids early and have dinner after they went to bed for an at-home date night.  I got a 3.5 mile run in before dinner and then proceeded to eat back all the calories (and then some) with this meal.  One of the things I have been trying to change in my thinking is that fat is bad for you.  It is not a bad thing to eat some healthy fats.  Fat is not the problem, it’s processed foods, sugar, white flour, etc.  Anyways, on to the recipe.  I made the super easy alfredo sauce off of my current favorite site.http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2011/07/10/recipe-super-easy-alfredo-sauce/

When I made the pasta I added in some Kale to cook at the same time as the pasta.  You don’t even taste the kale in this dish and kale adds some amazing health benefits as a dark leafy green.  I then pan-fried some prosciutto and added it when I added the noodles to the sauce.  The last thing I did for me, as my husband doesn’t eat mushrooms, was to saute some baby bella mushrooms to add on top.  It was very good and as my husband was eating it he told me, “This is very good, as good as a restaurant or even better.”  While I might not make this meal every day, it is definitely date night worthy.  Try it this week, you won’t regret it!

Tomorrow night comes the real test, homemade chicken nuggets.  I am really hoping my kids like them as I am having somewhat of a hard time finding things to feed them that they actually like right now.  Wish me luck!

About ahealthymom

I am a stay-at home mom to two boys who is very active in my church through Bible Study, Mops, Sunday School, small group and being a sponsor for our middle school youth group. I strive to live a healthy life everyday in all kinds of ways. The first in my relationship with God, also in healthy eating and exercise, healthy relationships to name a few. I have been following other blogs lately and decided to start my own where I would share ways I am living a healthy life, through my exercise plans, eating and recipes, Bible studies, parenting and various other relationships in life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

