The results are in…

The results are in from the first batch of homemade chicken nuggets and french fries.  Here are the stats:

I liked them and splurged a bit with organic ketchup to dip.

My husband:He said they were good and asked for seconds.

My 5 year-old: Ate them up like he would normally eat chicken and french fries.  The french fries first, but then cleaned his plate.

My picky 3 year-old: Spit out his first bite of both items, but then managed to eat about 2 chicken nuggets worth after telling him he couldn’t have popcorn during family movie night if he didn’t eat some chicken.

At first I was kind of disappointed in my 3 year-olds response, but then the more I thought about it I shouldn’t have been surprised.  He doesn’t like potatoes in any form other than fast food french fries and the only meat he will willingly eat is fast food chicken nuggets.  So since these were real food items he was bound to not like them as much.  He had leftover nuggets for lunch today and although he first told me he didn’t like this chicken he ate them more willingly this time.  I know that it is going to take a little while for everyone’s tastes to adjust to new foods.  So, I will keep on trying. 🙂

I have a couple of recipes to share with you today as well as this weeks meal plan.

I will first link you to the chicken nuggets recipe.

http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2010/10/14/recipe-homemade-chicken-nuggets/

I didn’t use the cheese as my 5 year-old doesn’t like cheese, but I am sure it would be delicious with it.

The second recipe I will link you to is a banana pancake recipe off of the same site.  We had these for breakfast this morning and both boys ate them well.  They are not big fruit eaters, so anyway I can get it in them I try.  These were really good, I enjoyed them as well.

http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2010/04/21/recipe-whole-wheat-banana-pancakes-freeze-the-leftovers/

It made quite a few, so I did put the rest in the freezer for quick breakfasts.

 

The next recipe is one that I made up for lunch today.  It turned out to be really good!

Grilled Cheese with Veggies and Avocado

What you need

Two pieces of Whole Grain Whole Wheat Bread (I used My Daily Bread Golden Ground Bread from the Health food section at Hy-Vee)

Two Kale Leaves, Stem removed, torn or cut up into small pieces

One carrot, grated

One baby Portobello mushroom, diced

Enough sharp cheddar cheese to cover a slice of bread, or two if some of these veggies are new to you. (I used grass-fed sharp cheddar cheese from Trader Joes)

1/4 of an avocado

Butter, for the bread

What I did

1. Pre-heat skillet over medium heat while chopping the veggies.

2. Spray the skillet with cooking spray and then cook all of the veggies until soft, about 5 minutes.

3. While the veggies are cooking, butter your bread and smash the avocado on the unbuttered side of the bread, covering the piece of bread.

4. When the veggies are done cooking place them on top of the avocado and then place the cheese on top of the veggies.  Then place the second slice of bread, buttered side up on top of the cheese.

5.  Carefully flip the sandwich over placing the cheese side down first.  This will help everything stick together.  Cook a couple of minutes until golden brown.  Flip over and do the same on the other side.

Enjoy!

Feel free to use any veggies you like, but this combination worked really well together.  I found with the sharp cheddar cheese you didn’t need as much and the avocado gives you some of that creamy texture on the other side of the sandwich.  If you are just starting out with some of these vegetables you may want to replace the avocado with more cheese or add it on top of the second layer of cheese.

This weeks Meal Plan:

Breakfasts:Steel Cut Oatmeal, Banana Pancakes, Whole Wheat Waffles, Eggs, Yogurt, Fruit

Lunches: Leftovers, PBJ Sandwiches, Frozen Chicken Nuggets, Grilled Cheese, Vegetables

Dinners:

Monday 9th– Chicken, leftover macaroni for the boys, brown rice for my husband and I after I get back from Zumba  ( I am starting this for a month at my church at 6pm)

Tuesday 10th-Enchiladas

Wednesday 11th-spaghetti and meat balls/meat sauce, haven’t decided which to try yet

Thursday 12th-Waffles, scrambled eggs and fruit

Friday 13th-Daddy is cooking for the Boys, while Mommy goes on girls night with her Sunday School class

Saturday 14th-Date night(either at home or take-out) leftovers for the boys

Sunday 15th-WW Noodles with prosciutto, vegetables

A couple of things got carried over from last week as we didn’t do them.  I may adjust as we go.

What healthy things are you eating this week?

Have a great day!

About ahealthymom

I am a stay-at home mom to two boys who is very active in my church through Bible Study, Mops, Sunday School, small group and being a sponsor for our middle school youth group. I strive to live a healthy life everyday in all kinds of ways. The first in my relationship with God, also in healthy eating and exercise, healthy relationships to name a few. I have been following other blogs lately and decided to start my own where I would share ways I am living a healthy life, through my exercise plans, eating and recipes, Bible studies, parenting and various other relationships in life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The results are in…

  1. Thanks for posting the recipes! I’m going to have to try the chicken nuggets for sure. The boys don’t really like meat either, they’ll only eat fast food nuggets. 😦 Let us all know how Zumba goes. I’m curious about it. Looks like fun, but I’ve got no rhythm. 🙂

Leave a Reply

