A day for cooking

Good evening!  I had a busy day today.  I spent a lot of time in the kitchen and then learned a new trick I will share with you at the end of this post.  After making lunch the mood to keep cooking struck and I jumped right on it spending the next three hours making cheese crackers, a double batch of whole wheat waffles for the freezer, rice and chicken, 2 pans of stacked enchiladas and bread crumbs.  It was a fairly successful afternoon.  The crackers were a disappointment.  They were very easy to make, but no one was really thrilled by the taste and texture of them.  This was the first flop that we have had from 100daysofrealfood.

The breadcrumbs were easy.  You just lay out bread for a few hours overnight and then  bake at 200 degrees for 1-2 hours until the bread is hard.  Then you place it in your food processor and process it until fine.  Store in the freezer until ready to use.

The enchiladas were fairly easy, good and the best part: a second pan to freeze for later.  The only note I have on these would be on bake time.  I prepped this ahead of time and stuck it in the refrigerator so the middle wasn’t warm after 5 minutes.  If you were broiling it while making it then your ingredients may already be warm and it would be done in time.  I will play with the cooking time when I make the frozen one later.  Here is the recipe: http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2010/04/14/recipe-chicken-enchiladas/.  The boys didn’t really eat this, but they haven’t eaten any mexican food or anything remotely spicy yet.  I am hoping this will change as they get older.

In all of my time cooking today I made an error.  I placed a towel on my kitchen table and then put the waffles on it to cool.  I do this often, but it is normally on my stove top or counter top.  Later I noticed white heat stains on the table where the waffles had once been.  I tried scrubbing it clean to no avail.  After becoming very frustrated I decided to actual do something with that frustration and googled it.  I came across a tip to use an iron to remove the stains.  This didn’t make much sense to me and I was afraid to try it, but really wanted the stains gone.  Guess what?  It worked!  What you need to do is turn the iron up as high as it goes and use steam.  I placed a white dish towel on the table and then ironed the towel, spraying steam as I went.  Before long my table was back to normal.  On the website that I got this tip it said that some people were complaining that this trick made their table worse, so I would try a small spot at first to see if it works for you.  I guess the saying is true, “You learn something new everyday.”.

In other health news, I tried Zumba for the first time last night.  It was a lot of fun.  Did I feel goofy? Yes.  Did I look ridiculous?  Most likely.  Was it fun? Yes!  There was a lot of laughter erupting in the room of women that I took this class with as many of us tried this class for the first time.  I worked up more of a sweat than I expected and am looking forward to next week.  This morning I ran 2 miles and did Level 1 of the 30 day shred this evening.  I have learned that I need to work up my endurance and leg strength in order to be able to run more than 3 miles.  I tried to run 4 miles on Saturday and shortly after 3 my legs burned so badly that I couldn’t go.  I decided to do the 30 day shred some again in order to help me with these things.  Hopefully I will be able to get in better shape in the next few weeks and fulfill my goal.

What is something new you learned today (this week)?

About ahealthymom

I am a stay-at home mom to two boys who is very active in my church through Bible Study, Mops, Sunday School, small group and being a sponsor for our middle school youth group. I strive to live a healthy life everyday in all kinds of ways. The first in my relationship with God, also in healthy eating and exercise, healthy relationships to name a few. I have been following other blogs lately and decided to start my own where I would share ways I am living a healthy life, through my exercise plans, eating and recipes, Bible studies, parenting and various other relationships in life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A day for cooking

  1. Good job on your exercise! 🙂 Glad your table turned out ok!

Leave a Reply

