Third times a charm…

It has been a while.  I fell off the bandwagon this weekend and then I didn’t make any new recipes.  Don’t worry however (not that you were), but I am back with a vengeance.  It all started when I went out to dinner for girls night with our Sunday school class on Friday and then my husband and I went to dinner for date night on Saturday.  On Sunday we had Culver’s after church.  I was going to come home and make something, but we ended up eating with a friend and wanted to grab something fast as we were taking the boys sledding.  On Monday I had a lunch date with my husband as my in-laws invited the boys over for lunch with my nephew.  Today I am back on the straight and narrow.  I successfully made it through the day without eating out!  🙂  I do feel better when I eat whole foods and I am going to try to continue doing it the majority of the time, but I am realizing everything in moderation.

Anyways, today I made two recipes that I ended up tweaking a little.  I had been spending a small fortune on bread without junk in it at the grocery store, so I decided to try making my own bread.  I used this recipe, http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/classic-100-whole-wheat-bread-recipe.  The things that I altered are this; I used 1 cup of water and 1/4 cup orange juice for the liquids, and 3 Tablespoons of butter instead of the oil.  I made the dough in my bread machine and then baked it in the oven.  My boys (all 3 of them) said that it was delicious and we ate almost half of the loaf today.  I think we had a winner.  🙂

The second recipe that I made was a baked macaroni cheese.  I made the macaroni and cheese recipe on 100 days of real food.  I then put the macaroni in a Pyrex dish and topped it with some more shredded cheese.  I broiled it for a few minutes to brown the cheese.  While that was broiling I melted a tablespoon of butter in a pan on the stove and added 1/4 cup of bread crumbs and toasted them up for a minute or two and then added some parsley, salt and pepper.  I turned the oven down to 375, topped the macaroni and cheese with the bread crumbs and baked for about 5 minutes more.  Everyone but my youngest cleaned their plates.  The 3 year-old didn’t like it, but my 5 year-old really liked it.  This is the third time I have attempted making whole wheat macaroni and cheese from scratch and the first two times he wouldn’t eat it at all and loved it to time.  I don’t know if it was just the repeated exposure or the fact that I let him stir the cheese sauce, so he felt like he was involved in the recipe.

In other news I ran 5 miles for the first time ever on Saturday and got a 4 mile run in today!  I am excited about these new distances that I am achieveing and hoping to keep it up!

Tomorrow I am going to attempt some brownies with whole wheat flour and honey.  Here is hoping they are as good as these two recipes.  Have a great night!

About ahealthymom

I am a stay-at home mom to two boys who is very active in my church through Bible Study, Mops, Sunday School, small group and being a sponsor for our middle school youth group. I strive to live a healthy life everyday in all kinds of ways. The first in my relationship with God, also in healthy eating and exercise, healthy relationships to name a few. I have been following other blogs lately and decided to start my own where I would share ways I am living a healthy life, through my exercise plans, eating and recipes, Bible studies, parenting and various other relationships in life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Third times a charm…

  1. I can’t wait to hear how the brownies turn out! I’ve been wanting some lately. I’ll have to try the mac and cheese too! Two of my faves. 🙂 Congrats on the run too!

  2. Jenn says:

    You should put pictures in your posts – the bread sounds like it came out beautifully!

Leave a Reply

