Whole Wheat Brownies

Well I did it.  I tried the brownies.  I have to say, they are pretty good.  They don’t exactly taste like brownies and have more of a cake-like consistency, but I liked them and my 3 year-old ate them.  I did like the texture of them.  The biggest note that I have is that they taste like honey.  If you like the taste of honey I suggest you try them as is, if not I would keep everything else the same and try sugar.  I am going to try them again this weekend or next week and make them with sugar instead.  I will then add another note on here whether they are worth using sugar and having as an occasional splurge or if you should just use the honey and be able to have them more often in sticking with the days of real food rules.

Whole Wheat Brownies (adapted from a recipe I found on-line)

1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour (or white wheat if you don’t have the pastry flour)

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa

1/2 tsp. baking powder

Dash of sea salt

3/4 cup raw honey (or sugar)

2 eggs

2 T unsweetened applesauce

2 1/2 T coconut oil

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1. Preheat the oven to 325 and grease a square baking pan.

2. In a small bowl combine the dry ingredients.

3.  In a larger bowl combine the rest of ingredients.

4. Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until combined and spread into the baking pan.

5. Bake for 30-35 minutes.

 

I baked them for 32 minutes and I thought they were a little dry, but my oven runs hot.

If you are in the mood for a somewhat of a healthy treat try these today and let me know what you think and whether you used honey or sugar.

About ahealthymom

I am a stay-at home mom to two boys who is very active in my church through Bible Study, Mops, Sunday School, small group and being a sponsor for our middle school youth group. I strive to live a healthy life everyday in all kinds of ways. The first in my relationship with God, also in healthy eating and exercise, healthy relationships to name a few. I have been following other blogs lately and decided to start my own where I would share ways I am living a healthy life, through my exercise plans, eating and recipes, Bible studies, parenting and various other relationships in life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Whole Wheat Brownies

  1. Jacks says:

    You could use agave nectar next time. I’ve had good results when using it!

  2. I’ve got some turbinado sugar, so it’s not as processed, I think I’ll try when I make them. I’ve got some shopping to do! I’m out of unsweetened applesauce, I’ve never used coconut oil, and I’m out of honey, oh and out of whole wheat flour….other than that~I’m ready! 🙂

  3. Jenn says:

    I was wondering – do you “melt” your coconut oil before you mix it with everything else?

Leave a Reply

