Snow day

Today was a snow day, or really more of an ice day.  All of the schools in the area were at least delayed for two hours if not canceled all together.  Since my son is in preschool even a delay means no school for him.  We had a nice day at home and some of us may or may not have stayed in pajamas all day :).  To me days in side mean baking.  Since I am changing the way I cook and bake I have lots of things in front of me that I want to try, but I am not sure how they will turn out.  I tried two new things today and I am very happy with the way that they both turned out.  The second recipe that I tried was a different version of whole wheat brownies.  I gave into my love of chocolate baked goods this weekend and had a big chocolate cupcake on Saturday night.  While I enjoyed every bite I did not like the way I felt afterwards.  After another not so great weekend and feeling awful last night and this morning I decided to try another brownie recipe in hopes of finding one I love.  Well boys and girls this one is a winner.  I found the recipe on pinterest.  You can find the recipe here: http://www.jillianmichaels.com/fitness-and-diet-tips/the-ultimate-healthy-brownie.  I made a couple of changes to the original recipe.  I used coconut oil instead of olive oil and I used 1/2 cup honey out of the jar, but then it ended up being 2/3 cup honey heated.  I think that was some of the problem that I had with the other recipe was that I used too much honey.  I think these brownies taste and smelled more like the way you think brownies should taste.  I highly recommend that you try these today!

Now that I have covered the sweet, the next recipe is salty.  I saw a whole wheat pretzel recipe on pinterest, so I decided to makeover the aunt annie’s copycat recipe that I have used in the past.  My boys loved this wheat pretzel recipe and ate them just as well as the other recipe.

Whole Wheat Soft Pretzel Bites

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/2 cups plus 1 Tablespoon warm water
1 1/8 teaspoon active dry yeast
2 tablespoons honey
1 1/8 teaspoon salt
1 cup bread flour
3 cups white whole wheat flour
2 cups warm water
2 tablespoons baking soda
to taste coarse sea salt
4 tablespoons butter (melted)

 

PREPARATION:

Sprinkle yeast on lukewarm water in mixing bowl; stir to dissolve. Add honey, salt and stir to dissolve; add flour and knead dough until smooth and elastic. Let rise at least 1/2 hour.

While dough is rising, prepare a baking soda water bath with 2 cups warm water and 2 Tbsp baking soda. Be certain to stir often. After dough has risen, preheat the oven to 450 then pinch off bits of dough and roll into a  thick rope.  Use a knife and cut into about 1″ pieces. (May optionally form into pretzel shapes if desired).  Dip pretzel in soda solution and place on greased baking sheet. Allow pretzels to rise again. Bake in 450 degrees F oven for about  8 minutes for bites 10 minutes for pretzels or until golden. Brush with melted butter and sprinkle with sea salt.

I may try to make these completely with whole wheat flour, but I was afraid if I took out the bread flour they wouldn’t have the same bite and chewiness as regular pretzels.  I halved the recipe and it made about 24 bites.

I am hoping the weather is better tomorrow and I can take the boys out to the co-op that I like to shop at.  It is about a half and hour trip.  I really want to get some great organic produce.  There is also a children’s museum that we are members to in the same town and it would be nice to let the boys burn off some energy after being snowed in all weekend.  I hope that you are all having a great start to your week!

About ahealthymom

I am a stay-at home mom to two boys who is very active in my church through Bible Study, Mops, Sunday School, small group and being a sponsor for our middle school youth group. I strive to live a healthy life everyday in all kinds of ways. The first in my relationship with God, also in healthy eating and exercise, healthy relationships to name a few. I have been following other blogs lately and decided to start my own where I would share ways I am living a healthy life, through my exercise plans, eating and recipes, Bible studies, parenting and various other relationships in life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

