Chocolate Zucchini Muffins

photo.JPG

Good afternoon!  That was my first attempt at posting a picture.  I am sorry it is small and not very good.  It was taken by my iPhone.  Until my hubby teaches me how to be more of a techy, it will have to do for now.

Last night the boys had blastball (which is like t-ball, except the base squeaks, there is only one base and no score is kept) and we wouldn’t be getting home until 6:30.  I had planned on doing breakfast for dinner and had defrosted some breakfast sausage links that I had gotten from Wallace Farms, but wasn’t sure what to have with it.  I also had most of a fairly large zucchini that was left from my CSA box from last Thursday.  I know that large zucchini are better for baking with, so I decided to make muffins to go with dinner.  We ended up having scrambled eggs, sausage, muffins and fruit.  Since I made the muffins ahead of time dinner was ready in about 15 minutes.

The muffin recipe that I used was from 100 days of real food and is found here. http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2010/06/25/recipe-zucchini-bread/

I followed the instructions and made half of the big muffins plain and then added cocoa powder and just a handful of dark chocolate chips to the rest of the batter.  I made these one other time before and made the whole batch chocolate and added about 1/2 cup cocoa powder.  This time I just added it until the color looked dark enough to me and they turned out well.  When I added the 1/2 cup of cocoa powder I also added a splash of milk (you could use any liquid you would like).  This recipe makes 24 muffins or 12 regular sized muffins and 24 mini muffins.  Another thing to note is that when you first mix the batter before you add the zucchini it is very thick and kind of hard to mix.  There is so much moisture in the zucchini that this changes once it is added.  Just be sure to incorporate it well into the batter.  The mini muffins took about 15 minutes to bake and the larger 20 minutes.

I received a shipment confirmation for my azure order and was able to get everything except for the 10 lbs of white wheat and sweet potato chips.  I will try for those again next time.

It has already been hard for me not to go to the store again and get a thing or two that I didn’t really need, but wanted to add to a meal.  I am excited to see how this works, to break myself of the shopping habit and see what creative meals I come up with by the end of the month!

About ahealthymom

I am a stay-at home mom to two boys who is very active in my church through Bible Study, Mops, Sunday School, small group and being a sponsor for our middle school youth group. I strive to live a healthy life everyday in all kinds of ways. The first in my relationship with God, also in healthy eating and exercise, healthy relationships to name a few. I have been following other blogs lately and decided to start my own where I would share ways I am living a healthy life, through my exercise plans, eating and recipes, Bible studies, parenting and various other relationships in life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

